A Significant Birthday

To celebrate my 30th birthday recently I had a bunch of friends over to do some of my favourite things – play games and eat dessert. I thought it would be fun to ask everybody to dress up in bright colours.

I went a little over the top with  my outfit (you don’t really get the full effect of my hot pink tights in this photo, plus I had taken off my teal cardigan). As it turns out, I loved this outfit and had so much fun wearing it.

It made me realise how much I love wearing happy colours, how colour makes me feel more “me”, and how it had been a while since I’d lapsed into wearing too many safe options.

So I probably wouldn’t wear this in public, but I decided that night that I needed to incorporate more colour in my everyday outfits. It’s one small part of what helps me to feel happy and confident and young. Kind of a good way for me to celebrate my 30th birthday don’t you think?

Hey - I know it's been done, but I've loved rainbow colours since a tiny kid

Yummm!

Leave a Comment

