A Slight Tweak

Today’s outfit was something I wear quite often on Sundays but with two small adjustments. For the first time I tucked my t-shirt into my skirt instead of awkwardly bunching and folding the bottom up. I had been firmly stuck in the mentality that tucking your shirt in was “uncool”, something I decided during my early teen years (yeah, I know it’s risky to be still following your own teenage advice into your thirties). I hadn’t realised until Audrey from Putting Me Together illustrated so clearly that sometimes tucking your top into a skirt can create a much better silhouette. Sold!

The second thing I did a little differently today was the addition of a skinny black belt around the top of my skirt. Belts have not had much place in my wardrobe, especially not ones that have no “functional” reason for being there. But I have now learnt that belts are great for changing the balance of an outfit, and in this case I quite like the way it softens the transition from skirt to top.

(I need to buy some more tops and skirts with interesting prints. Add it to the shopping list.)

Leave a Comment

