Sewing Success

I don’t wear this skirt very often because I really struggle to find things in my wardrobe to pair with it – maybe you’ve got the odd piece that you don’t know what to do with either? I think the main problem is the colour, it’s not one I’d normally wear and consequently doesn’t seem to go with anything I’d normally wear. In fact I’m not exactly sure what this colour IS, I think it might be somewhere between a mushroom and a stagnant pond perhaps.

This shirt seems to work with it well, luckily for me, but I’m pretty sure it’s the only thing I have ever worn with this particular skirt. I’ve tried other navy tops, but they don’t look quite right somehow without the fine gold stripe.

Of course when attempting to create a functional wardrobe, logic would dictate I should rid my collection of such a difficult item. The problem is – I made this skirt myself. I don’t make many things and this is one of the very few cases where I have been really happy with the end result. Plus I remember all the time and frustration that went into its creation, and I can’t just effortlessly toss all that aside.

So a challenge for myself: find some other things in my wardrobe that I can wear with this skirt. Suggestions are most welcome!

Leave a Comment

