Can I Be Of Assistance?

Today was a little bit exciting – it was my first time helping somebody else sort through their wardrobe! My good friend Jess E (the same friend I accidentally went shoe shopping without) asked if I could give her a hand to decide which things should stay and which should go. Of course I was more than happy to help, for a few reasons:

1. I thought it would be a fun challenge to work with a different body shape and personal style
2. It would be a great opportunity to experiment with colours and textures that I don’t have in my wardrobe
3. How often do you get the chance to sift through somebody’s entire collection of clothing? (With their permission, I mean)

So what do you wear on an appointment as a professional style consultant? (I use the term “professional” extremely loosely here, there was no kind of payment going on unless you count the vest I stole from the “donate to charity” pile). My aim was for Effortlessly Stylish; I wanted to create the illusion that I knew what I was doing, instil confidence. I also wanted to mix in a blazer as it makes me feel a bit more competent and I knew we’d have to try and stay on track if we were going to get it done in the modest baby-free window we had.

I quite liked the resulting outfit – very easy to put together, casual with a touch of class, a dash of colour to give it some lift. And it makes me so very happy to be finally getting some more use out of my long-forgotten work attire!

For the record, we had a lot of fun and it was quite productive. A lot of new space has been made, and a (small) shopping list of essentials to fill some gaps. We didn’t get to the experimental creating-new-outfits stage (boo!), but we certainly tossed around some interesting ideas and I’m looking forward to seeing what Jess E comes up with over the next few weeks!

(Shoes: Big W $10)

Leave a Comment

