Something Old, Something New

This outfit came together really easily this morning, which was great. And then I realised I’m pretty much wearing the same thing I did last Saturday, just switched around. Four days ago is really recent history – I can’t really even call it a “reworking of an old outfit”. I can however safely conclude that this colour combination of navy, teal and yellow is a winner as far as I’m concerned! And do you know what, finding combinations that work for me and reusing them to help outfits come together more easily – well that is nothing but EXACTLY the point of this blog.

What IS new today is the way I’ve styled this outfit – I’m pretty sure it’s the first time I’ve used a belt at my waistline. Partly because I was doubtful it would suit me, but that’s a poor reason to not at least give it a try! I was also a bit concerned about the extra hassle removing the belt when breastfeeding Tiny Miss P, but now that she’s on three solid meals that’s really only a couple of times during the day.

I’m at least partway to being converted. I loved the way the belt added some colour and it definitely gave the outfit more shape. Unexpectedly, it was also more practical from a “mum” perspective – it stopped my loose cardi from flapping around so much, thus saving it from being splashed/dunked while cleaning the house/feeding babies and toddlers/changing nappies.

And is it just me, or do I have a touch of Grecian going on today?

Such a glorious mix of colour!

Even though I’m wearing simple block colours, I do really like the textural components going on here. Even my shoes are joining the party today.

Quick, the camera timer is about to go off!

Leave a Comment

