Mix It Up

Oh, yeah, check it out – I’m pattern mixing! It’s kind of “beginner’s pattern mixing” really – an argyle vest with a spotty scarf, but it’s the first time I’ve tried it. If you want to see a REAL pattern mixer, check out Elizabeth from Delightfully Tacky, she’s a genius. Or one of the bravest pattern mixes I’ve seen recently, check this out – I couldn’t pull it off myself, but I love that Catherine somehow can.

This vest is another old favourite piece from when I worked in an office. It’s great to be getting some more wear out of these things, and I really am loving the look of a work shirt or blazer (or vest) teamed with some denim for a smart casual look.

I’ve been enjoying this outfit today, and my husband even complimented me on it – he likes most things I wear, but it’s unusual for him to venture an opinion without being asked. I think it’s fantastic that the skirt and vest have both been in my wardrobe for about 10 years, but I still love them and can wear them without feeling outdated. Ten years and still going strong, these items definitely belong in my functional wardrobe!

Generally the only pattern mixing I’ve done involves my apron, with the entire audience being my kitchen and family ;)

14 thoughts on “Mix It Up

  1. Leanne Shea Langdown (@DeepFriedFruit)

    Pattern mixing. Those two words would not have been seen together in my vocabulary until three months ago when I finally came to terms with the possibilities. I was brave enough to take it on for a meeting about 6 weeks ago and the lady I was meeting actually commented (positively) on my outfit. Scary stuff .. but sometimes you’ve got to venture into the unknown.
    Nice to meet you! Via IBOT
    Leanne @ Deep Fried Fruit

    Reply
    1. Questing Jess Post author

      Absolutely! I’ve never been at all fashionable, but I’m having a go at some new things – I think it’s good to stretch myself a bit.
      Thanks for stopping by :)

      Reply
  2. Julie

    Good on you! I am not even close to being fashionable, but I do like seeing the fashion choices of others. I love how the scarf kind of tones in with the pink line on the vest. Not sure if that defeats the purpose of pattern mixing… but it looks good!

    Reply
    1. Questing Jess Post author

      Thanks Jess, it just felt right and very “me” :)
      It’s been such a long since I’ve worn this vest, I’ve gone to get rid of it a few times but now am glad I kept it!

      Reply
  3. Tam

    Oh, I just discovered your blog via IBOT and I LOVE the whole idea.

    I’m a big fan of rehashing stuff from my wardrobe and mixing it up for a new look, and this outfit is lovely. The scarf is adorable!

    Reply
    1. Questing Jess Post author

      Thankyou :) I’ve been amazed with what I’ve been able to put together with my existing clothes – it’s not always a great success, but hey it’s only 7 weeks since I was still wearing old hoodies every day without fail!

      Reply

Leave a Comment

