Expect The Best

Today in the queue at the supermarket a lady commented to me: “bright clothes”, to which I replied “thankyou!”. And then realised that I couldn’t be sure if it was meant as a compliment or not, so awkwardly added something about how I liked to dress in bright cheerful colours.

There’s a few things I could take out of this – maybe I looked like I belonged in a children’s cartoon, or perhaps today I just didn’t blend into the crowd. I’d like to dwell more on the fact that I immediately assumed it was a compliment (her tone of voice was fairly neutral, more an observation of fact). I guess when you like what you’re wearing you can expect that maybe others might too!

When I first bought these bright blue jeans I kind of thought I might end up only wearing white or black with them, but they’ve been more versatile than I had expected. I hadn’t thought I’d be able to wear navy with them, but I really like the look here with some red accents. I’m starting to think my joking aside to a friend “what WOULDN’T I wear them with?” may actually have been a prophecy.

Not entirely convinced about my first attempt at the “cropped jeans” look though. I think it’s great for the warmer spring weather, but am a bit worried my legs look a bit stumpy. Maybe it only works with heels, or perhaps I’ve gone for the wrong height. I swear it looked better in the mirror than on film – is that denial or poor photography skills I wonder?

I think it looks best with limited to two splashes of red, so if I was going to wear the cardi all day I’d probably ditch the necklace

2 thoughts on “Expect The Best

  1. Robyn (@slightly_deep)

    This, I love!! And those legs do not look stumpy in any way! Cropped skinnies can make you think that sometimes- but I think your legs look great- and I like the splash of red! I love colours too. I realised my wardrobe has far too much black and have been slowly adding colour- I even got some purple skinnies the other day :)

    Reply
    1. Questing Jess Post author

      Thanks :) fell into the trap of too much boring black/grey since being pregnant with my eldest – ever noticed how so much maternity wear is black or grey? I’ve been loving getting back into the colour these last few weeks, and your purple skinnies sound awesome!

      Reply

Leave a Comment

