High Tea

Today I wanted to keep things simple and elegant as the main activity was high tea with my best friend to celebrate our thirtieth birthdays. Oh high tea, how I do love thee! Beautifully trimmed sandwiches, crisp savoury pastries, scones with luscious jam and velvety cream, fluffy lemon meringue tarts, gooey chocolate éclairs, creamy pistachio slice and melt-in-your-mouth macaroons. Is it just me, or does everything taste better when presented in cute individual servings?

Wow that paragraph was fantastic to write, the memories of deliciousness just came flooding right back.

Anyway, back to outfits. We both used this occasion as an excuse to get a little more dressed up than usual. For my friend, this meant wearing a tulle petticoat with one of her favourite dresses (I’m pretty sure she’s just as enchanted by Sleeping Beauty as she ever was growing up). For me this meant wearing the pearl jewellery I bought for my wedding. For both of us this meant tottering around in heels far higher than we would normally choose to wear – I know I’m not breaking any height records with these shoes, but trust me they are about an inch higher than my regular ones.

We are a practical pair though, so you can rest assured we both had a pair of flats tucked into our handbags!

Leave a Comment

