Blog Smile

Blog Smile (1)

Blog Smile (2)

Blog Smile (3)

Blog Smile (4)

I’ve nearly finished my fifth month of blogging and I’ve gotten pretty quick at taking outfit pictures. I have my “blog smile” down-pat (eyes open, genuine smile without teeth, head not on too much of an angle). I have my tripod set up permanently (it’s one of those little bendy ones, gripping on to a drain pipe for dear life – I dream of owning a proper tripod one day). I have my main poses (front on and side shots, so there are different angles to view the outfit). I usually take 80-100 pictures each session, but I have a timer function that takes ten at a time so this really doesn’t take much more than about five minutes. Some days even five minutes is tricky to find while looking after the girls!

Later in the day I upload the pictures and get deleting. First to go are the closed eyes (~30%). Next are the big tummies (a further 20-50%, depending on the outfit). Then the awkward poses and weird smiles (~10%). By this stage it’s very obvious if the outfit is a forgiving one – if there are still heaps of photos to wade through it’s a keeper! Next I crop the photos and reduce the file size for uploading. Finally I come up with a post title (some days this is a struggle) – once I’ve managed to come up with a title the rest of the text pretty much writes itself.

Every now and then I like to throw in some different shots. Not ready for the photograph, still walking away from the camera, distracted by my little girls. I don’t actually try to take photos like these as I just can’t justify the time. But I hope that you enjoy these little glimpses of a more unguarded me from time to time.

Blog Smile (6)

2 thoughts on “Blog Smile

Leave a Comment

