Be My Guest

Be My Guest (1)

Be My Guest (2)

Last week my friend Hannah suggested via Facebook that it would be fun to get some of my friends to pick out a complete outfit for me. I loved the idea – not only would it potentially unearth some great new combinations I hadn’t thought of, but it would also give me a day off! I’m not naturally a super-creative person, so it is often a bit of an effort for me to push myself to create new outfits day after day.

Today’s outfit was picked out for me by my lovely mother-in-law. I was really happy to wear it even though it wasn’t exactly what I would have chosen for myself. I was a little hesitant about the shoes – I love how they add that great colour, but was concerned that the ankle strap in conjunction with the skirt’s longer length made my legs look a little stumpy. Perhaps it would have looked a little better if my skirt was a little shorter and a little more tapered, but all the same I think it had a nice overall shape and colour balance.

I’m surprised it hasn’t occurred to me to wear this owl shirt with black before, I love the contrast – I’d like to try it with skinny black jeans instead of the skirt. This experiment really was a lot of fun so I’m planning to do it again, possibly about once a fortnight. I expect it will be mainly friends and family participating as “guest stylists”, but if anybody out in blog-land would like to play along then by all means shoot me an email (questingjess@gmail.com) and let me know your outfit idea using items I have worn on this blog.

Be My Guest (3)

Leave a Comment

