Up My Sleeve

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Up My Sleeve

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Up My Sleeve

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Up My Sleeve

Now that summer has come to an end, I’m satisfied that my warm weather wardrobe is functioning really well. Plenty of versatile items, lots of mix-and-match potential. (If I was honest, probably more than I need.) The thing is, now I’m staring down the barrel of 6-7 months of cold weather and getting a little bit nervous. My savings and last year’s birthday money is well and truly spent, and I’ve even spent the next few weeks of my budget in advance. So as much as I KNOW my cold weather wardrobe needs some serious attention, it’s just not possible right now.

What am I going to do? I’m going to get creative with layering, that’s what.

Today’s outfit looks very simple, but there definitely some components I wouldn’t have considered trying this time last year:
1. Tucking my top in, so the belt is visible. Makes the outfit look neater and adds interest.
2. Layering a pink long-sleeved top under a t-shirt then under a 3/4 sleeve cardi. (I’ve rolled the longer sleeves up to create a dark pink cuff for the cardigan, but I also think it looked ok rolled down for a colour-blocking effect – might wear it this way another time.)
3. The two shades of pink clash pretty badly when you hold the tops side-by-side, so I would never have thought to put them together before. But when you have one colour just peeking out, it doesn’t look bad at all.

These are just a few little tips I’ve learnt so far to make my wardrobe more functional when layering for cooler weather – I’m sure by the time summer ticks around again I’ll have a few more tricks up my sleeve!

Leave a Comment

