Blue Spotty

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Blue Spotty

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Blue Spotty

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Blue Spotty

I’ve had this dress for quite a few years now, and to be honest I can’t remember if I’ve worn it at all. I wasn’t completely sure it was right for me at the time, but my Mum convinced me to buy it. It didn’t take much work – it’s very rare for us to get the chance to shop together (we live in different states), and even rarer for her to like something enough to convince me to buy it.

The problem is that I find this dress confusing. The fabric is high quality with a subtle shimmer to it and the dress fully lined, but the style is quite casual. So it seems too nice for everyday wear, yet too casual for dressing up. It’s ended up in the “too hard” basket, with me pretty much pretending it doesn’t exist. But no more – now that I’m taking a good hard look at my wardrobe I have to decide if it stays or goes.

Today I tried wearing it with a lace top underneath (as suggested by my sister-in-law). I think it helps to make the dress a little more grown-up, but I’m not won over yet. Currently my plan of attack is to experiment a little with layering over the top, and if that doesn’t work I might attempt to alter it into a skirt. Which kind of terrifies me, but I would be sad to just get rid of it so it could be worth a shot.

Leave a Comment

