Stumped

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Stumped

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Stumped

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Stumped

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Stumped

I’m at a bit of a loss. I bought three pairs of fun, coloured tights with the hope of being inspired to wear skirts and dresses more often during the cooler weather – it seemed like a great idea, but so far I just can’t figure out what to do with them. Nothing looks quite right.

One pair is navy – that’s not so bad. Navy is one of my favourite neutrals (right up there with black and white), so I’m sure they’ll be very useful. But these purple ones? I just can’t seem to find anything to go with them, which is confusing because a top in this exact shade would be easy for me to work with. And my teal pair? I’ve tried twice to wear them so far, but the result was just not good.

I have a printed skirt containing the EXACT same shade of purple as these tights, but somehow they don’t look right together. I can’t put my denim skirts with these bright tights as the denim ends up looking washed out (in a bad way). There doesn’t seem to be many options left to try. Today I went with this navy printed dress, which I think is okay, but I’m not completely happy. It just doesn’t seem well balanced – I also tried adding a red cardi but can’t decide if it looks better or worse!

I like the practicality of wearing tights, and I love the colours of the tights I’ve chosen, but so far have been unable to pull it all together into outfits I enjoy. I’ll keep trying for a bit, but if I just can’t make it work I might have to buy some good old boring black ones!

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Stumped

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Stumped

4 thoughts on “Stumped

  1. Kelly @ Kiwi Womens Style

    Black is good – but why not turn to pinterest or google for some inspiration? I have red, maroon, mustard, grey and black pairs and have decided to try out teal and purple this year too :) Thanks for sharing with WW xo

    Reply
    1. Questing Jess Post author

      That’s a good idea – reduce the amount of purple on display. Unfortunately the only pair of black boots I currently own have a heel on them and aren’t comfortable enough for everyday, but perhaps some more casual boots need to go on my shopping list :)

      Reply

Leave a Comment

