New Boots

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - New Boots Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - New Boots Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - New Boots

Today’s outfit is all about the boots for me. I actually bought them several weeks ago, but this is the first time they’ve been worn. Most of the shoes I’ve bought since starting this blog have been reasonably priced – these were rather more of a splurge. In fact, they are single-handedly the reason I went into “pocket money debt”. (Incidentally, I break even again next week so I might even be able to consider the odd new purchase soon.)

So how did I justify spending so much money on a pair of shoes with my small budget of $20 per week?
1. They are really good quality, beautiful soft leather, and should last a long time.
2. I love the style – to quote the Jo Mercer website “the perfect mix between grunge and polished”.
3. They are versatile – a small heel to complement dressy outfits, but low and comfy enough for everyday wear.
4. They fit my feet PERFECTLY. I do have a trouble finding the ideal fit for my feet which are an in-between size so unless the shoes come in half-sizes I’m almost certainly doomed from the start. On top of that my feet are quite narrow and I can’t bear to wear shoes that squish the ball of my foot at all.

As most of you would know my aim is to sort out my wardrobe so I no longer find it difficult to pull together an outfit that feels great. To begin with there were lots of gaps that needed to be filled reasonably quickly and cheaply – I think that’s been achieved for the warmer weather, and hopefully by the time I reach my one year anniversary of blogging I’ll have done the same for cooler weather outfits. At that point I’d like to shift to more considered purchases of higher quality items that I know will last a long time – like these boots which I was very comfortable wearing all day long and can’t wait to wear again!

[Boots: Jo Mercer $180]

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - New Boots

2 thoughts on “New Boots

Leave a Comment

