Pinterest Fail

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Pinterest Fail

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Pinterest Fail

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Pinterest Fail

I’ve really gotten behind on the Pinterest Challenge – it was supposed to be one pin every week for six weeks, but I’m still only up to my fifth one and it’s been a full two weeks since the last one. Turns out using saved inspiration is harder than I expected!

Today I was inspired by this picture, basically some flared pants with a belted top (creating a peplum effect). I wasn’t going for an exact replica here, but thought I could use the principles to create a nice outfit with great shape. It didn’t really work.

For starters, I’m not a model. But it’s far more than that! I chose these pants as the closest to flares I have, but they really aren’t right for the look as they are wide all the way up the leg; I would have done better with bootleg jeans I think. The stripey top isn’t roomy enough for maximum effect when belted – but I was kind of backed into a corner by the checked pattern on my bottom half. Add to this the fact my pants are too long (they are a little too big for me now so sit lower than they should) and I’m closer to frumpy than curvalicious.

So facing facts: I think the pants need to go.

It makes me sad – I’ve had them for many years and really like them. But when I’m honest with myself I like the idea of them more than the reality. I love the fabric and the folded cuffs, but they’ve never been a perfect fit and are too low rise for my liking. I hope they find the right owner who will love them.

Leave a Comment

