Fun Run

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Fun Run

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Fun Run

So today was my first ever fun run. If you’re thinking that “fun” and “run” don’t really belong in the same sentence – I’m totally with you. It wasn’t FUN. I found it difficult, pushed myself hard, and more than once wanted to just stop. But I made it to the end in a time of 30 minutes 54 seconds – I had aimed to run it in under 30 minutes, but couldn’t quite get there today. It was still a personal best time for me though which I’m happy about.

And while it wasn’t FUN, the community support was amazing – with about 500m to go a lovely lady jogged up next to me and encouraged me to keep up with her, get my breath back and steady my pace until the end. Totally unexpected, but much appreciated. There was also a sense of achievement in completing my goal of running 5km by May, something I’ve been working towards since late last year.

I’m naturally a sprinter rather than distance runner, but I decided to take up distance running after having Gestational Diabetes during my second pregnancy. I knew I had to make improvements in both diet and exercise to avoid developing Type 2 Diabetes later in life. Running just seemed the cheapest and most convenient way to fit a decent workout into a reasonably small window of time – “small” is the only type of window I seem to have these days!

So anyway, after getting up nearly 2 hours earlier than I normally do to run 5km in the city I got home pretty tired. With no plans to leave the house for the rest of the day my outfit had to be super easy. And what could be easier than shamelessly ripping off my outfit from Tuesday?

P.S. Sorry for the particularly grainy shots today, I was taking some action photos of the kids yesterday and forgot to change the settings back.

Leave a Comment

