Leopard Print Dare

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Leopard Print Dare

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Leopard Print Dare

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Leopard Print Dare

I know the layering is distracting, but this is so you can see what the outfit looks like without the denim jacket hiding everything!

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Leopard Print Dare

Day 18 of the Fox In Flats Style Dare was Leopard Print. This was a tricky one for me – I have never owned (or even been tempted by) anything leopard print. It just isn’t something I’m in to. But in the interest of trying new things, I picked this scarf up super cheap and thought I could definitely wear it for a single day. (And if things go badly, I have a good friend ready and waiting to take it off my hands!)

Leopard print can vary a lot in pattern – I was just lucky this heavily reduced scarf happened to be my most preferred sort. Medium sized spots, not too yellow, soft blending tones. The first thing I noticed was how it surprisingly goes with so much in my wardrobe. I’ve heard SO many people preach about how versatile leopard print is, but I wasn’t convinced it would work for me so well as I don’t use a lot of brown.

I thought I’d take advantage of the opportunity to create a version of this picture I’ve had saved in Pinterest for a while. Mine doesn’t work as well as Bri’s, partly because my belt is too dark and gets lost, but mostly because I covered up my striped top with a denim jacket. Hey, it’s cold here! (I think the leopard scarf and denim is a winning combination on its own anyway.) Later in the day I tried a slightly different style with the same clothes (see below), and I think I prefer this second look.

Linking up with Kiwi Womens Style for Wardrobe Wednesday.

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Leopard Print Dare

[Scarf: Target $6]

4 thoughts on “Leopard Print Dare

  1. versatilestylebytracey

    Well, I must say first and foremost I am an animal print lover… So great to go outside your norm and try new things. Starting with an acccessory is the perfect way to try any trend… I am always so impressed with how bloggers add leopard print shoes into the mix and am convinced it can act like a neutral…Love the pattern mixing you’be done here and all three versions of this look. I am not too into the oxfords for myself and my own style, but really love yours !

    Reply
  2. kiwiwomensstyle

    Animal print rocks! Really like the inspiration pic and your second version. Agree that the belt kind of blends. So are you converted? I’m still looking for a leopard print belt myself. Can’t wait to see what else that scarf goes with…

    Thanks for sharing with Wardrobe Wednesday! xo

    Reply

Leave a Comment

