Reflect: August

With the end of August comes the end of winter, and this year spring has been particularly enthusiastic with already a couple of short-sleeve-weather days. I may have to wait until next year to improve my layering skills, but in the meantime let’s have a look at August’s outfits.

Favourite Outfits

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Spring In The AirI loved this one, a big soft scarf over a short-sleeved top. Something about the proportions and colours of this just really appeals to me.
Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Tights TimeThis outfit was part of my recent effort to get more wear out of my burgundy cardigan, and I really liked the result.
Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Purple And NavyI love this navy and purple combination, it kind of softens the brightness of the purple. Not that the brightness worries me, but it’s a nice change.
Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Pattern FriendsStriking yet pretty. This one felt a bit outside my comfort zone, but when I see the photo I like it more and more.
Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - BehindThis is the type of outfit I like to wear most of the time – some jeans, a top and blazer. Nothing fussy, but still looks like I’ve taken some care to present myself well.

Least Favourite Outfits

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Not SuitedI don’t think this is a particularly bad outfit, it’s just not the right style for me at the moment.
Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Not Enough HoursI’m pretty sure this outfit looked better in the mirror than in the photograph! I don’t have a particular problem with the colours, more that it just looks a bit sloppy. A large part of this is my cobalt jeans are a little loose on me now – a correctly fitting item makes all the difference.

Honourable Mentions

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - NeutralQuest for a Functional Wardrobe - PlumbingQuest for a Functional Wardrobe - TripodQuest for a Functional Wardrobe - Competent
Leave a Comment

