Reflect: Blogiversary

A little over a year ago I noticed a couple of my friends (also with young children) always looked great – they didn’t necessarily have a lot of new clothes, but somehow knew how to put them together to make the best of everything. I was a little ashamed of my own efforts, most often old jeans with a maternity hoodie – despite the fact I hadn’t been pregnant for at least 6 months. I wondered if the ability to create great looking outfits was something you were born with, or if it could be learnt.

On the off-chance that I too could learn how to put together simple but stylish outfits on a limited budget I set off on my quest for a functional wardrobe. And here I am, one year on, 288 outfits later, struggling to whittle down my favourites into a manageable number for a summary blog post!

Here is a selection of my favourite outfits from the last year. These are the ones I want to wear again and again, the ones I feel best represent me and my style at this point in time.

Favourites – casual, cold weather

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Purple SurpriseQuest for a Functional Wardrobe - A Favourite ComboCobalt And Violet (1)Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Chilled

Favourites

Favourites – casual, mild weather

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Black MagicQuest for a Functional Wardrobe - Pink Patterned
Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Baby Shower 22013-08-30 Spring In The Air

Favourites

Favourites – casual, hot weather

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - Quiff DareQuest for a Functional Wardrobe - On And OnQuest for a Functional Wardrobe - FinallyQuest for a Functional Wardrobe - Watermelon

Favourites

Favourites – dressing up

Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - My Style Mantra DareBelted Maxi (1)Mission Complete (2)Quest for a Functional Wardrobe - On Repeat

Favourites

I’d love to think my style journey has been helpful or interesting to other people, but even if not I’ve learnt so many new things that have really made it easier for me to get dressed in the morning and make the most of the clothes I’ve got. I’m going to call this little experiment a success so far, and continue on!

2 thoughts on “Reflect: Blogiversary

Leave a Comment

